Get to Know Us

Jewish Federation of Northern New Jersey thrives on building community. Our mission is simple. We create a stronger, more vibrant Jewish experience in northern New Jersey, Israel and around the world, wherever Jews live. We focus on the future, help those in need and work hard to ensure our community continues to prosper.

Serving you is our privilege.

Officers

Roberta Abrams
President

Ron Rosensweig
Vice President, Financial Resource Development

Rena Donin Schlussel
Vice President, Planning and Allocations

Bruce Brafman
Vice President, Treasurer

Jayne Petak*
Vice President, At Large

Lawrence A. Weiss
Secretary

Lee Lasher
Incoming President (June 2020)

Stephanie Goldman Rosen
Immediate Past President

Jason M. Shames
Chief Executive Officer, Executive Vice President

Board of Trustees

Lisa Marcus Abramowitz
Dana Post Adler
Lauri Bader
Ruth Cole
Suzette Diamond
Karen Farber
Fred Fish
David J. Goodman*
Adam Groveman
Sarita Gross
Daniel Herz

Andrew Kent
Glenn Kissler
Marni Kriegel, MD
Michal Levison
Geoffrey Lewis
Nathan J. Lindenbaum
Zvi S. Marans, MD*
Susan Penn
Will Rukin
Paula Shaiman
Daniel M. Shlufman

Judy Taub
Louise Tuchman
Jeffrey Tucker
Fran Weingast
Donna Weintraub
Tracy Zur

*Past Presidents

Management

Jason Shames
Chief Executive Officer, Executive Vice President
jasons@jfnnj.org
201-820-3910

Kenneth Wagner
Chief Development Officer
kennethw@jfnnj.org
201-820-3927

Lisa Harris Glass
Chief Planning Officer
lisag@jfnnj.org
201-820-3941

Jodi Heimler
Managing Director, Major Gifts
jodih@jfnnj.org
201-820-3952

Melody Maravillas
Managing Director, Finance and Administration
melodym@jfnnj.org
201-820-3961

Naomi Knopf
Managing Director, Governance and Special Projects
naomik@jfnnj.org
201-820-3974

Robin Rochlin
Managing Director, Endowment Foundation, Assistant Executive Vice President
robinr@jfnnj.org
201-820-3970

Executive Office

Naomi Knopf
Managing Director, Governance and Special Projects
naomik@jfnnj.org
201-820-3974

Marla Chartoff
Executive Assistant to Chief Executive Officer
marlac@jfnnj.org
201-820-3915

Endowment Foundation

Robin Rochlin
Managing Director, Assistant Executive Vice President
robinr@jfnnj.org
201-820-3970

Leonard Fisher
Assistant Director
lenf@jfnnj.org
201-820-3971

Devra Karger
Director, Principal Gifts
devrak@jfnnj.org
201-820-3951

Michal Vinar
Administrator
michalv@jfnnj.org
201-820-3972

Financial Resource Development

Jodi Heimler
Managing Director, Major Gifts
jodih@jfnnj.org
201-820-3952

Andi Lewittes
Senior Director, The Network
andil@jfnnj.org
201-820-3930

Marin Schloss Carosia
Manager, The Network
marinc@jfnnj.org

Devra Karger
Director, Principal Gifts
devrak@jfnnj.org
201-820-3951

Barbara Joyce
Director, Women’s Philanthropy
barbaraj@jfnnj.org
201-820-3953

Melina Rozenbaum
Assistant Director, Women’s Philanthropy
melinar@jfnnj.org
201-820-3906

Beth Figman
Director, Volunteer Resource Services
bethf@jfnnj.org
201-820-3947

Kim Schwartzman
Manager, Outreach and Engagement, Hudson County
kimberlys@jfnnj.org
201-820-3936

Stacey Frenkel
Manager, Campaign Operations
staceyf@jfnnj.org
201-820-3911

Andrea Caloras
Financial Resource Development Coordinator and Tribute Cards
andreac@jfnnj.org
201-820-3937

Jane Sherwood
Missions Associate
janes@jfnnj.org
201-820-3962

Lois Greene
Administrative Assistant, Women’s Philanthropy
loisg@jfnnj.org
201-820-3958

Tara Mickendrow
Assistant to Chief Development Officer and Financial Resource Development Department
taram@jfnnj.org
201-820-3935

Synagogue Leadership Initiative

Gerard Dargan
Director, Jewish Community Security
gerardd@jfnnj.org
201-820-3978

Joshua Keyak
Manager
joshuak@jfnnj.org
201-820-3914

Bonnie Schulman
Administrative Assistant
bonnies@jfnnj.org
201-701-4952

Rachel Jacobus
Community Outreach Associate
rachelj@jfnnj.org
201-820-3902

Center for Israel Engagement

Ethan Behling
Director
ethanb@jfnnj.org
201-820-3955

Joyce Greenberg
Program Coordinator
joyceg@jfnnj.org
201-820-3907

Aya Adut
Youth Shlicha

Shoval Magal
Youth Shlicha

Marketing and Communications

Laura Freeman
lauraf@jfnnj.org
201-820-3923

Sandra Greenberg
Art Director, Digital and Graphic Design
sandrag@jfnnj.org
201-820-3922

Alan Schachter
Manager, Digital Design
alans@jfnnj.org
201-820-3943

Felice Popper
Special Events Coordinator
felicep@jfnnj.org
201-701-4958

Laurie Siegel
Director, Community Programs and Services
lauries@jfnnj.org
201-820-3956

Finance and Administration

Melody Maravillas
Managing Director
melodym@jfnnj.org
201-820-3961

Debbie Gottlieb
Manager, Kehillah Cooperative Community Purchasing
debbieg@jfnnj.org
201-820-3928

Yelena Karakash
Supervisor, Data Processing
yelenam@jfnnj.org
201-820-3967

Birgit Brandl
Accounting Analyst
birgitb@jfnnj.org
201-820-3963

Daniel Lopez
Senior Accountant
danielp@jfnnj.org
201-820-3966

Laura Dorothea
Administrator, Office, Facilities and Receivables
laurad@jfnnj.org
201-820-3965

Natha McCoy
Data Processing Associate
natham@jfnnj.org
201-820-3968

Ryan Walsh
Assistant, Finance Department
ryanw@jfnnj.org
201-701-4957

Bozena Sroka
Controller
bozenas@jfnnj.org
201-820-3960

William Dunphy
Mail Room Associate

Community Planning and Impact

Sheryl Sarin
Manager, Planning and Allocations Commissions
sheryls@jfnnj.org
201-820-3913

Lauren Morris
Communications and Support Specialist
and Planning Associate
laurenm@jfnnj.org
201-820-3904

Jewish Community Relations Committee

Ariella Noveck
Director
ariellan@jfnnj.org
201-820-3946

David Silverman
Administrative Assistant
davids@jfnnj.org
201-820-3944

Berrie Leadership

Laura Freeman
Director, Berrie Leadership Programs
lauraf@jfnnj.org
201-820-3923

Hillel of Northern New Jersey

Talia Mizikovsky
Director of Jewish Student Life
taliam@jfnnj.org
201-820-3948

Job Opportunities

Cover letters and resumes should be sent to jobs@jfnnj.org with the name of the position you are applying for in the subject line of the email.

Manager, Philanthropic Advancement

Responsibilities of the Manager include: Research of new prospects and existing donors with potential to give major gifts. Engage (steward and cultivate) a minimum of 25 new major donor households ($10,000) over a 3 year period. Work collaboratively with FRD team and other Federation professionals and lay leadership on placement and contact with new donors to ensure continued engagement at an appropriate level.
Get More Information

Manager of Professionals Division

Position Summary: The Manager of the Professionals Division is the key link to those who support Federation in the Commerce & Professionals and Physicians & Dentists groups. Working with the Chief Development Officer and Senior Director of Development, the Manager of the Professionals Division will develop and implement a strategy to engage members of this cohort who currently give between $1,000 and $9,999 annually; to steward their giving, and to develop relationships with donors who could give at this level.
Get More Information

Development Officer, Planned Giving and Endowment

Position Summary: The Development Officer, Planned Giving and Endowment will work to grow, facilitate, and engage donors in the work of the Endowment Foundation. Federation’s Endowment Foundation is responsible for raising dollars for the future through various planned giving vehicles. It also manages a Donor Advised Fund program and invests endowment assets for agencies within the Federation’s catchment area. Goals include growing current assets under management as well as obtaining commitments for future gifts in order to support the mission of the Federation for future generations.
Get More Information

Development Associate

Position Summary The Development Associate is a member of the development team and is expected to contribute to the overall success of Federation’s financial resource development strategy. The Development Associate is responsible for identifying, cultivating, and stewarding a portfolio of donors; conducting solicitation efforts; and participating in FRD/Annual Campaign events and activities.
Get More Information

Synagogue Camp Specialist

Position Summary: The Synagogue Camp Specialist is a new position dedicated to increasing the number of families participating in Jewish overnight camps from targeted area synagogues. Jewish overnight camp is demonstrably a transformative experience for children and families, building and deepening their life-long engagement in Jewish life and values and their connection to the Jewish community. Therefore, the purpose of this position is to build an interest in Jewish camp and increase Jewish camp attendance from the targeted synagogues.
Get More Information

Jewish Community Relations Committee Associate

Position Summary: The Jewish Community Relations Committee Associate is responsible for supporting the oversight and execution of the public affairs agenda of Jewish Federation of Northern New Jersey, primarily with functions related to communications and support for the department. The successful candidate must be highly organized, energetic, and sufficiently flexible to handle multiple assignments in a fast-moving, dynamic environment.
Get More Information

Digital Design Associate

Position Summary: The Digital Design Associate is a member of the marketing and communications team and is expected to contribute to the overall success of Federation’s Marketing and Communication strategy.
Get More Information