Get to Know Us

Jewish Federation of Northern New Jersey thrives on building community. Our mission is simple. We create a stronger, more vibrant Jewish experience in northern New Jersey, Israel and around the world, wherever Jews live. We focus on the future, help those in need and work hard to ensure our community continues to prosper.

Serving you is our privilege.

Officers

Roberta Abrams
President

Ron Rosensweig
Vice President, Financial Resource Development

Rena Donin Schlussel
Vice President, Planning and Allocations

Bruce Brafman
Vice President, Treasurer

Jayne Petak*
Vice President, At Large

Lawrence A. Weiss
Secretary

Lee Lasher
Incoming President (June 2020)

Stephanie Goldman Rosen
Immediate Past President

Jason M. Shames
Chief Executive Officer, Executive Vice President

Board of Trustees

Lisa Marcus Abramowitz
Dana Post Adler
Lauri Bader
Ruth Cole
Suzette Diamond
Karen Farber
Fred Fish
David J. Goodman*
Adam Groveman
Sarita Gross
Daniel Herz

Andrew Kent
Glenn Kissler
Marni Kriegel, MD
Michal Levison
Geoffrey Lewis
Nathan J. Lindenbaum
Zvi S. Marans, MD*
Susan Penn
Will Rukin
Paula Shaiman
Daniel M. Shlufman

Judy Taub
Louise Tuchman
Jeffrey Tucker
Fran Weingast
Donna Weintraub
Tracy Zur

*Past Presidents

Management

Jason Shames
Chief Executive Officer
JasonS@jfnnj.org
201-820-3910

Lisa Harris Glass
Chief Operating Officer
LisaG@jfnnj.org
201-820-3941

Jodi Heimler
Managing Director, Major Gifts
JodiH@jfnnj.org
201-820-3952

Robin Rochlin
Managing Director, Endowment Foundation Assistant Executive Vice President
RobinR@jfnnj.org
201-820-3970

Executive Office

Naomi Knopf
Chief of Staff
NaomiK@jfnnj.org
201-820-3974

Marla Chartoff
Executive Assistant to Jason Shames
MarlaC@jfnnj.org
201-820-3915

Endowment Foundation

Robin Rochlin
Managing Director, Endowment Foundation Assistant Executive Vice President
RobinR@jfnnj.org
201-820-3970

Devra Karger
Director, Principal Gifts
DevraK@jfnnj.org
201-820-3951

Marcy Needle
Planned Giving Officer
MarcyN@jfnnj.org
201-820-3971

Michal Vinar
Administrator, Endowment
MichalV@jfnnj.org
201-820-3972

Financial Resource Development

Jodi Heimler
Managing Director, Major Gifts
JodiH@jfnnj.org
201-820-3952

Ethan Behling
Director, Professionals Division
EthanB@jfnnj.org
201-820-3921

Andrea Caloras
Coordinator, Financial Resource Development
AndreaC@jfnnj.org
201-820-3937

Barbara Joyce
Director, Women’s Philanthropy
BarbaraJ@jfnnj.org
201-820-3953

Lois Greene
Administrative Assistant, Women’s Philanthropy
LoisG@jfnnj.org
201-820-3958

Devra Karger
Director, Principal Gifts
DevraK@jfnnj.org
201-820-3951

Jason Katz
Philanthropic Officer
JasonK@jfnnj.org
201-820-3909

Tara Mickendrow
Administrative Assistant, Financial Resource Development Department; Tribute Cards
TaraM@jfnnj.org
201-820-3935

Marin Schloss Carosia
Manager, Women’s Outreach
MarinC@jfnnj.org

Kim Schwartzman
Director, Outreach and Engagement
KimberlyS@jfnnj.org
201-820-3936

Jane Sherwood
Missions Associate
JaneS@jfnnj.org
201-820-3962

Synagogue Leadership Initiative

Gerard Dargan
Director, Jewish Community Security
GerardD@jfnnj.org
201-820-3978

Shira Hochman
Camp Specialist
ShiraH@jfnnj.org
201-701-4954

Rachel Jacobus
Community Outreach Associate
RachelJ@jfnnj.org
201-820-3902

Joshua Keyak
Manager, Synagogue Leadership Initiative
JoshuaK@jfnnj.org
201-820-3914

Bonnie Schulman
Administrative Assistant
BonnieS@jfnnj.org
201-701-4952

Center for Israel Engagement

Melina Rozenbaum
Director, Center for Israel Engagement
MelinaR@jfnnj.org
201-820-3955

Joyce Greenberg
Program Coordinator
JoyceG@jfnnj.org
201-820-3907

Aya Adut
Youth Shlicha

Shoval Magal
Youth Shlicha

Marketing and Communications

Laura Freeman
LauraF@jfnnj.org
201-820-3923

Sandra Greenberg
Art Director, Digital and Graphic Design
SandraG@jfnnj.org
201-820-3922

Dana Stein
Marketing Associate
DanaS@jfnnj.org
201-820-3943

Shara Nadler
Manager, Volunteer Resources Center
SharaN@jfnnj.org

Catalina Sanchez
Digital Design Associate
CatalinaS@jfnnj.org
201-820-3931

Kim Schwartzman
Director, Outreach and Engagement
KimberlyS@jfnnj.org
201-820-3936

Catalina Sanchez
Digital Design Associate
CatalinaS@jfnnj.org
201-820-3931

Finance and Administration

Bozena Sroka
Controller
BozenaS@jfnnj.org
201-820-3960

Birgit Brandl
Accounting Analyst – Payroll & Benefits
BirgitB@jfnnj.org
201-820-3963

William Dunphy
Mail Room Associate

Debbie Gottlieb
Manager, Community Purchasing; Kehillah Cooperative
DebbieG@jfnnj.org
201-820-3928

Yelena Karakash
Supervisor, Data Processing
YelenaM@jfnnj.org
201-820-3967

Daniel Lopez
Senior Accountant / Accounts Payable
DanielP@jfnnj.org
201-820-3966

Natha McCoy
Data Processing Associate
NathaM@jfnnj.org
201-820-3968

Lindsey Scheidewig
Office Manager
LindseyS@jfnnj.org
201-820-3965

Ryan Walsh
Assistant, Finance Department
RyanW@jfnnj.org
201-701-4957

Community Planning and Impact

Sheryl Sarin
Director, Planning and Allocations Commissions
SherylS@jfnnj.org
201-820-3913

Lauren Morris
Communications and Support Specialist, Planning and Allocations
LaurenM@jfnnj.org
201-820-3904

Jewish Community Relations Committee

Ariella Noveck
Director
AriellaN@jfnnj.org
201-820-3946

Haley Chizever
Associate
HaleyC@jfnnj.org
201-820-3944

Hillel of Northern New Jersey

Talia Jordan
Director of Jewish Student Life
Talia@hillelnnj.org
973-885-3433

Job Opportunities

Cover letters and resumes should be sent to jobs@jfnnj.org with the name of the position you are applying for in the subject line of the email.

Community Response Director

Position Summary: The Community Response Director (“CRD”) is responsible for convening the Jewish community organizations that provide services in the local Jewish community as defined by the Federation’s catchment area (currently Bergen and Hudson counties, and Wayne). In the current Coronavirus climate, it is vital that the community understands the full scope of impact from the current situation as well as the needs of the community (current and projected). The CRD position requires a creative individual who has demonstrated excellent community development and communication skills as well as an understanding of the not for profit sector and collaboration opportunities. The position requires someone who is familiar with Federation’s catchment area and has shown commitment to developing community resiliency, as well as crisis and post-crisis planning. Get More Information

Director, Philanthropic Advancement – Young Leadership

Position Summary: The Director of Philanthropic Advancement – Young Leadership (DPA-YL) will drive our innovative and high-end effort to attract the next generation of major donors and create a leadership pipeline for affinity level donors with the capacity to contribute at least $500. The position will focus on major donor level prospects ($10,000+) and affinity level ($500-$9,999) prospects. Get More Information

Managing Director, Finance & Administration

Position Summary:The Managing Director of Finance & Administration (MDFA) is the chief fiscal officer of Jewish Federation of Northern New Jersey (Federation), responsible for developing overall financial and operational strategy in accordance with and in service to the organization’s overall mission and strategy. Get More Information