Get to Know Us

Jewish Federation of Northern New Jersey thrives on building community. Our mission is simple. We create a stronger, more vibrant Jewish experience in northern New Jersey, Israel and around the world, wherever Jews live. We focus on the future, help those in need and work hard to ensure our community continues to prosper.

Serving you is our privilege.

Officers

Roberta Abrams
President

Lauri Bader
Co-Vice President, Financial Resource Development

Lee Lasher
Co-Vice President, Financial Resource Development

Lisa Marcus Abramowitz
Vice President, Planning and Allocations

Daniel M. Shlufman
Vice President, Treasurer

Jayne Petak*
Vice President

David Nanus
Secretary

Jason M. Shames
Chief Executive Officer, Executive Vice President

Stephanie Goldman Rosen
Immediate Past President

Board of Trustees

Dana Post Adler
Gale S. Bindelglass
Bruce Brafman
Suzette Diamond
Julie Eisen*
Karen Farber
Fred Fish
Merle Fish
Judy Taub Gold
David J. Goodman*
Sarita Gross

Daniel Herz
Glenn Kissler
Marni Kriegel, MD
Joan Krieger
Sue Ann Levin
Geoffrey Lewis
Nathan J. Lindenbaum
Zvi S. Marans, MD*
Susan Penn
Ron Rosensweig*
Will Rukin

Alan Scharfstein*
Leon Sokol
Louise Tuchman
Jeffrey Tucker
Fran Weingast
Donna Weintraub
Larry Weiss
Tracy Zur

*Past Presidents

Management

Jason Shames
Chief Executive Officer, Executive Vice President
jasons@jfnnj.org
201-820-3910

Lisa Harris Glass
Chief Planning Officer
lisag@jfnnj.org
201-820-3941

Jodi Heimler
Managing Director, Major Gifts
jodih@jfnnj.org
201-820-3952

Melody Maravillas
Managing Director, Finance and Administration
melodym@jfnnj.org
201-820-3961

Naomi Knopf
Managing Director, Governance and Special Projects
naomik@jfnnj.org
201-820-3974

Robin Rochlin
Managing Director, Endowment Foundation, Assistant Executive Vice President
robinr@jfnnj.org
201-820-3970

Laura Freeman
Managing Director, Marketing and Communications
lauraf@jfnnj.org
201-820-3923

Executive Office

Naomi Knopf
Managing Director, Governance and Special Projects
naomik@jfnnj.org
201-820-3974

Marla Chartoff
Executive Assistant to Chief Executive Officer
marlac@jfnnj.org
201-820-3915

Endowment Foundation

Robin Rochlin
Managing Director, Assistant Executive Vice President
robinr@jfnnj.org
201-820-3970

Leonard Fisher
Assistant Director
lenf@jfnnj.org
201-820-3971

Devra Karger
Director, Principal Gifts
devrak@jfnnj.org
201-820-3951

Michal Vinar
Administrator
michalv@jfnnj.org
201-820-3972

Financial Resource Development

Jodi Heimler
Managing Director, Major Gifts
jodih@jfnnj.org
201-820-3952

Andi Lewittes
Senior Director, The Leadership Network
andil@jfnnj.org
201-820-3930

Tina Schweid
Assistant Director, The Leadership Network
tinas@jfnnj.org
201-701-4960

Barbara Joyce
Director, Women’s Philanthropy
barbaraj@jfnnj.org
201-820-3953

Melina Rozenbaum
Assistant Director, Women’s Philanthropy
melinar@jfnnj.org
201-820-3906

Beth Figman
Director, Volunteer Resource Services
bethf@jfnnj.org
201-820-3947

Kim Schwartzman
Manager, Outreach and Engagement, Hudson County
kimberlys@jfnnj.org
201-820-3936

Andrea Caloras
Financial Resource Development Coordinator and Tribute Cards
andreac@jfnnj.org
201-820-3937

Jane Sherwood
Missions Associate
janes@jfnnj.org
201-820-3962

Lois Greene
Administrative Assistant, Women’s Philanthropy
loisg@jfnnj.org
201-820-3958

Tara Mickendrow
Assistant to Chief Development Officer and Financial Resource Development Department
taram@jfnnj.org
201-820-3935

Synagogue Leadership Initiative

Elisa J. Hirsch
Manager, Community Outreach and Engagement
elisah@jfnnj.org
201-820-3918

Joshua Keyak
Manager
joshuak@jfnnj.org
201-820-3914

Bonnie Schulman
Administrative Assistant
bonnies@jfnnj.org
201-701-4952

Rachel Jacobus
Community Outreach Administrative Assistant
rachelj@jfnnj.org
201-820-3902

Center for Israel Engagement

Ethan Behling
Director
ethanb@jfnnj.org
201-820-3955

Joyce Greenberg
Program Coordinator
joyceg@jfnnj.org
201-820-3907

Aya Adut
Youth Shlicha

Shoval Magal
Youth Shlicha

Marketing and Communications

Laura Freeman
Managing Director
lauraf@jfnnj.org
201-820-3923

Sandra Greenberg
Art Director, Digital and Graphic Design
sandrag@jfnnj.org
201-820-3922

Alan Schachter
Manager, Digital Design
alans@jfnnj.org
201-820-3943

Felice Popper
Special Events Coordinator
felicep@jfnnj.org
201-701-4958

Laurie Siegel
Director, Community Programs and Services
lauries@jfnnj.org
201-820-3956

Finance and Administration

Melody Maravillas
Managing Director
melodym@jfnnj.org
201-820-3961

Debbie Gottlieb
Manager, Kehillah Cooperative Community Purchasing
debbieg@jfnnj.org
201-820-3928

Yelena Karakash
Supervisor, Data Processing
yelenam@jfnnj.org
201-820-3967

Birgit Brandl
Accounting Analyst
birgitb@jfnnj.org
201-820-3963

Daniel Lopez
Senior Accountant
danielp@jfnnj.org
201-820-3966

Laura Dorothea
Administrator, Office, Facilities and Receivables
laurad@jfnnj.org
201-820-3965

Natha McCoy
Data Processing Associate
natham@jfnnj.org
201-820-3968

Ryan Walsh
Assistant, Finance Department
ryanw@jfnnj.org
201-701-4957

Bozena Sroka
Controller
bozenas@jfnnj.org
201-820-3960

William Dunphy
Mail Room Associate

Community Planning and Impact

Sheryl Sarin
Manager, Planning and Allocations Commissions
sheryls@jfnnj.org
201-820-3913

Lauren Morris
Communications and Support Specialist
and Planning Associate
laurenm@jfnnj.org
201-820-3904

Jewish Community Relations Committee

Ariella Noveck
Director
ariellan@jfnnj.org
201-820-3946

David Silverman
Administrative Assistant
davids@jfnnj.org
201-820-3944

Berrie Leadership

Laura Freeman
Director, Berrie Leadership Programs
lauraf@jfnnj.org
201-820-3923

Hillel of Northern New Jersey

Talia Mizikovsky
Director of Jewish Student Life
taliam@jfnnj.org
201-820-3948

Job Opportunities

Manager, Campaign Operations

Position Summary: The Manager, Campaign Operations is responsible for the strategic development, growth, and oversight of the annual campaign in coordination with the Chief Development Officer (CDO). Manager, Campaign Operations will be expected to develop campaign metrics and consistent reporting mechanisms for monitoring, tracking and analyzing the progress of the annual campaign. More info

Manager, Philanthropic Advancement

Responsibilities of the Manager include: Research of new prospects and existing donors with potential to give major gifts.
Engage (steward and cultivate) a minimum of 25 new major donor households ($10,000) over a 3 year period. Work collaboratively with FRD team and other Federation professionals and lay leadership on placement and contact with new donors to ensure continued engagement at an appropriate level. More info